2018 African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Continental & Regional Awards

This award is created to promote the participation of women in science and technology across the continent. In addition, the award program contributes to the promotion of Africa and regional development and integration through science, technology and innovation.


Offered annually? Yes

To be taken at: Next Heads of States and Government Summit in January 2018.

Eligible Fields of Research: Prizes are awarded to top African scientists in each of the following two sectors

(a) Life and Earth Science; and

(b) Basic Science, Technology and Innovation.

Application Deadline:  31st October, 2017. For the National awards kindly contact National Academy of Science or National Research Councils. Expired but you can apply next year just subscribe to us via our email subscription to get the latest.

Also Apply:  Howell & Christmas, LLC Visionary Scholarship | $1,000 Essay Scholarship for Law Students

Offered Since: 2008

Type: Contests/Award

Value of the Award: The value of the African Union Women Scientists Regional Award shall be US$20,000 (Twenty thousand US Dollars  conferred by the African Union Commission on two award winners.)


 The African Union Scientific Awards will be awarded to African scientists who have remarkable achievements applicable to the prevalent challenges in Africa.

How To Apply: Interested females should download and completely fill in the application form.

Also Apply:  Essay Scholarship Contest

Applications should be received by 31 October 2017 at the COMESA address below.

The Officer in Charge
AU Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards 2017 Edition
Gender and Social Affairs Division
COMESA Secretariat
Ben Bella Road
P.O. Box 30051
Lusaka, ZAMBIA

Eligible Countries: 

  • Central African Region: Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Congo (DRC), Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Sao Tome & Principe.
  • Eastern Region: Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda.
  • Northern Region: Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Mauritania, Tunisia, SADR.
  • Southern Region: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
  • Western Region: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.
Also Apply:  High School Video Contest Titled "Make Time To Sleep"

Visit The Official Website For More Information